Tags

, , , , , , ,

I made salmon for dinner last night and since it was so hot I decided to grill it so I didn’t have to heat up my kitchen. I marinated the fillet in two different marinades: a traditional lemon, garlic, and dill and the other one was a sweet, smoky, and salty mix.

That was a nice 2.2 lb filet–so I washed it and dried it to get it ready for the marinades.

For the sweet, salty, and smoky marinade I used equal parts of brown sugar and soy sauce–about 1/4 c of each and 1 tsp of kosher salt and 1 tsp of applewood smoked salt–which is key to this recipe. (You can use liquid smoke instead if you can’t get the smoky salt–a couple of tsp. should do the trick)

mix all the ingredients and add the salmon–cover and turn a couple of times during the marinating time– for 4-8 hours.

Here they are being marinated–one is a wet marinade–the smoky one, and the lemon, garlic and dill is a dry marinade. I take a few squeezes of fresh lemon juice, a dash of olive oil and fresh (1T) or dried dill (1t), a dash of salt (or 2,3, or 4 🙂 ) some fresh or dried garlic–eqivalent to 2 cloves. Mix all together and rub on the fish, cover and let marinate for 4-8 hours.

Then cook on medium high heat until the fish feels firm to the touch–about 5-7 minutes per side, I think. I like my salmon cooked–so I may over cook it a bit for the gourmets out there–but the thought of raw fish  😦   yuk. I test the doneness by pressing it with my finger–it should feel firm and not spongy.

We ate the fish with the cilantro potato salad and some sliced cucumbers–which I love with salmon and sometimes make a cucumber sauce to go over the lemon salmon. I decided the potato salad had enough fat in it for the evening, though 🙂

I was trying to be good and only eat a small helping–but had to go back for more salmon–it was too good!!

Keep cool and carry on!!

Kyra

 

 

