Tags

, , , ,

You either looove cilantro or you hate it is what I’ve come to learn as I have used this herb while entertaining. Well, I am a lover of it and this pesto!!

To make it do the following:

Cilantro Pesto

2 c. cilantro leaves–loose packed

2 whole cloves garlic

2 T. fresh lime juice

1/4 to 1/2 c. olive oil

1/3 c. walnuts or your favorite nut

salt and pepper to taste

Put the cilantro leaves, garlic, and lime juice in your food processor and pulse into a paste. Add nuts and pulse again to a paste. Drizzle olive oil in while processing until desired consistency and adjust seasoning with the salt and pepper.

Now it is ready to use in many different ways–I will use it today for lunch on a cheese quesadilla and tonight to make a potato salad using some of  my cooked potatoes. (See my post on a big pot of potatoes) For the salad, I will chop a sweet onion and dice some potatoes and mix up some mayo, sour cream and pesto to taste and stir in the potatoes.

And for the quesadilla, I will use the cheese I have on hand–mozzerella and the pesto on a flour tortilla and lightly brown in oil in a skillet until the cheese is melty and serve with salsa.

Hope you have a cilantro filled day, too! 🙂

Kyra

