Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

As you know–I like to buy in bulk 🙂 and that leads to being creative in the kitchen, so you don’t throw any of it away. This week it is a bag of red potatoes~

I washed half of the bag–about 5 lbs and boiled them in salted water for about 35-45 minutes in a big pot until they were tender, but not mushy. Cool and put them in a ziploc or container in the fridge–they are now ready for the next few days and several meal ideas!!

Tonight I made them into hobo packet potatoes on the grill~

I sliced about 5 of them into a foil packet and drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with salt and pepper. I will sometimes add green peppers, onions, and mushrooms at this point, too. A touch of cayenne is good also, but I am going to make a horseradish dip for these and just kept them on the plain side today.

I sealed the packet and cooked them along some burgers on the grill–when you pre-cook them you don’t have to worry about raw potatoes being the end product of your packet cooking 🙂 . Just heat them along side until they are heated through–mine did get a little crispy on the bottom–but that is the way I like them!

I then served them with a creamy horseradish dip I made by taking equal parts of sour cream and mayo and adding horseradish to taste. I love this sauce on my burgers, too!

I will be posting on how I used the rest of the boiled potatoes up in future posts–so stay tuned 🙂

Kyra

