Tags

, , , , ,

I made a caprese salad over the weekend and had a little bit leftover. The mozzerella was looking a little mushy and unappetizing, but I didn’t want to throw it out. (I don’t like to waste anything 🙂 ) So I decided to make a toasted sandwich using the salad, some whole wheat rolls and bacon. I put the salad on the whole wheat roll which I had cut in half–like a mini bun.

 

I then baked it in the toaster oven until the mozzerella was gooey and the bun was lightly toasted. Added the bacon strips which I folded in half and VIOLA what a tasty lunch/snack!!

To make a caprese salad I use a ball of mozzerella (fresh) and ripe tomatoes, olive oil, salt, pepper and fresh basil leaves. I dice the tomatoes and the cheese and toss it together, then add the basil and olive oil and season it with the salt and pepper. I serve it on soft french bread slices the day I make it.

A matter of taste–not waste 🙂

Kyra

