Tags

, , , , , , ,

I love to celebrate the holidays and there is something about summer and Independence Day that takes me back to my childhood. We didn’t have a set thing we did every year during the day–sometimes it was a picnic in the park, a local flea market or a cookout at home–but we always did go see the fireworks at night. (Six kids and Mom and Dad in our brown station wagon–this was before my littlest brother arrived:) )  All of the wonder–the oohs and ahs–the magic of the pattern, sound and color mingling together. That, along with a sense of patriotism and pride in our wonderful country, is definitely a cause for celebration!!

So, in anticipation of the upcoming July 4th, I made a paper banner for a little added decor for the special day!!

I used a variety of papers in red, white and a couple shades of blue, along with ribbon and die cuts to embellish the pennants. It definitely adds a festive touch to the dining room!!

If you have never made a banner–you should give it a whirl!! You could make it out of other materials like burlap, fabric, any kind of paper–think brown paper bag–that would be cute!!

Have a patriotic day!

Kyra

 

