Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I have been in to taking color out of things lately–it is a little addicting, I’m afraid 🙂

Here is the card at the finish line–and here is how I did it 🙂

I stamped and heat embossed the images on navy card stock and used a bleach pen to take the color out of the images. I then took larger pieces of the navy card stock and submerged it for about 30 minutes in a bucket with a small amount of bleach

It is drying on the towel next to the sand dollars and the original color is the dark navy piece next to them with the holes punched out. Once it is dry it, has a neat texture–it softens the fibers of the paper to bleach and wet them. I do rinse the paper with plain water before drying–do this carefully–the paper is fragile. If it pulls apart, just mash it together–when it dries it will stay together.

To make the card I used a piece of bleached paper I tore and cut on a diagonal and spritzed it with a dye ink I made from Stampin Up Not Quite Navy re-inker and water that I put in a little mister bottle. The paper I used for the base of the card is NQN also. I ran the front through the dry embossing folder to give it a raised dot texture and layered the bleached card stock and the punched out sand dollar on the card. I matted the sand dollar on a piece of NQN, also.

I then distressed the corner–there is a good tutorial on this here

http://www.stampinchic.com/2012_03_01_archive.html

I layered a piece of bleached cardstock on navy and peeked it out from the curled edge to complete the card.

There it is–more bleaching 🙂

Have a wonderful day!!

Kyra