Tags

, , , ,

When I was growing up, our school cafeteria served the best butter cookies! My sister and I have been on the hunt for a good butter cookie recipe for several years now, but haven’t found the one that matches the taste of those from our old school.

Well, this recipe is the closest one yet–it tastes really similar and the texture is just about like the ones I remember. So, this is it! (unless we find a better one!!) Thanks, my sister, for sending me the latest recipe to try!

Butter Cookies

1 c. butter-softened

1 c. sugar

1 egg, beaten

1/4 tsp. salt

2 tsp. vanilla

Cream the butter and gradually add the sugar–then add the rest of the ingredients beating well.

Then add :

2 2/3 c. flour and beat well

Scoop onto cookie sheet and flatten with a sugar coated glass (with a flat bottom)

Bake at 370 degrees for  7-10 minutes, do not let them get browned.

Here they are before baking while I am in the process of flattening them with the sugar coated glass.

And here they are ready to enjoy!!

Oops! Someone tore off half of one :}

Try these and let me know if you like them, too!!

Kyra

