Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I got this recipe a few years back at a family reunion from my husband’s cousin Gina, who is an awesome baker/cook!! So, thanks, Gina!!

I changed the recipe up a bit, because my favorite part is the chewy oatmeal brown sugar bottom. So, I decided to do 1 1/2 times the recipe for the base and keep the topping the same. Here is my version of the recipe:

Chocolate Oatmeal Bars

1 c. butter (use real butter)

1 1/2 c. brown sugar

1/2 c. white corn syrup

1 tsp. vanilla

1/4 tsp. salt

3 1/2 c. quick cooking oats (needs to be quick cooking)

Mix these ingredients together–creaming the butter, sugar, syrup, and vanilla, and salt together and then stirring in the oats.

Spread into a greased 9×13 pan and bake at 350 Degrees for about 15-20 minutes. It will look like a big soupy mess when you take it out–just make sure it is bubbling around the edges good. Do not overbake it – it will set up as it cools.

Topping:

I use 2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips and 2/3 cup peanut butter, melt them together in the microwave–using 30 second increments, stirring after each until melted. Stir in 2 crushed up butterfinger candy bars and spread over cooled bars. Let set up in the refrigerator and cut into bars–I do bite size ones because these are really rich!

Instead of the butterfingers, the original recipe called for 4 heath bars crushed and sprinkled over the top of the chocolate and p.b. mixture. Either way, these are addicting!!

We used to make something similar to these when I was growing up called O’Henry Bars or 15 Minute Bars…this recipe just cranks it up a notch!!

Enjoy 🙂

Kyra

 

