Tags

, , , , , , ,

Last weekend I asked the family what they were in the mood for to have for dinner and hot dogs came into the discussion very quickly. I wanted to add a little something to them and had a big package of precooked bacon hanging around–so we did some bacon wrapped dogs–nothing new–but I’ll share how I used the precooked bacon and roasted them in the oven with my potatoes.

The trick to getting the bacon supple enough to wrap is to microwave it for just about 10-15 seconds–you want it to soften–not cook any more. Working quickly wrap 2 slices around each dog–we used Hebrew National all beef dogs. I didn’t use anything to hold the bacon in place because they were just going to be sitting pretty in the pan–I would use a toothpick if I was going to grill them. Place them in a pan and set aside while you prepare the potatoes. I used my mandolin and thinly sliced 3 large baking potatoes–drizzled with olive oil and a little salt and desired seasoning. I threw a touch of creole spice on them, too. 

Spread out evenly on the large cookie sheet with sides and roast at 425 degrees for 20-30 minutes. Turn them and add the hot dogs to the oven and roast the hot dogs and potatoes for 10-15 minutes more until the hot dogs are heated and the bacon is crispy and the potatoes are browned and crispy. I sprinkled some white cheddar over the potatoes the last 5 minutes.

I made some baked beans and it was a feast!!

If you don’t have a mandolin just hand slice your potatoes as thinly and evenly as possible.

Have a delicious day!!

Kyra

