Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Every once in a while I go a little crazy in the produce aisle and a few too many veggies end up in my cart–not a bad thing over all, right? I just can’t stand to  throw anything away, so I made up this mixture you can make ahead and turn into 3 meals over the next few days. It’s a real time saver!!

I chop all the veggies into small pieces and get them into a large saute pan in a swirl of olive oil. Saute them in this order onions until lightly browned, mushrooms until lightly browned, green, red, yellow, orange pepper, garlic–dried or fresh (Pressed)–continue to saute until they are crisp tender. Remove from skillet and fry 1-2 lbs of sausage–your favorite kind–pork/Italian–whatever until no longer pink breaking it apart into crumbly pieces. Mix in the cooked veggie mixture and add some chopped tomatoes if desired. Season after cooking with either salt and pepper or garlic salt to taste.

There are really no measurements for this recipe–just use what veggies you like!!

I used one sweet onion, one each of the colored peppers, one jalapeno–seeds removed and one lb. of portabella mushrooms and 2 cloves of garlic in my saute. 

Here it is before I added the cooked sausage–I cook several lbs of sausage, ground beef, ground turkey, and ground chicken at a time and freeze them in ziplock freezer bags to have on hand for quick meals–tacos, sloppy joes, chili, spaghetti etc. That way I only have the mess once in a while 🙂

So put this mixture in the refrigerator and use it for the following meal ideas:

Breakfast Burritos–

Fry however many eggs and throw in desired amount of veggie/sausage mixture, then toss in some of you favorite cheese– and roll in a heated tortillas. Serve with salsa, sour cream and avocado, if desired. Yummy quick breakfast!

Sausage Fried Rice–

2-3 cups cooked rice–brown or long grain white (I make mine in a rice cooker, but you can buy it already to go!)

Veggie/Sausage mixture — desired amount

A couple dashed of Worcestershire sauce and a couple of hot sauce

Season to taste with salt and pepper or garlic salt.

Warm in a lightly olive oiled skillet until heated through.

One of my faves!!

Veggie Pizza–

Homemade or bought pizza crust–rolled out to fit into the oiled pan

Top with your favorite sweet BBQ sauce or traditional pizza sauce–whichever you prefer

Sprinkle veggie/sausage mixture over the top and smother with you favorite cheese mixture–I like a cheddar mozzarella mix 🙂

Bake and enjoy!! I bake mine at 425 degrees for about 15-20 minutes–start to check after 10 minutes.

Tip: For an extra crispy crust–prebake it for about 5 minutes before adding the sauce and toppings!

Well there you go–I have my breakfast already for tomorrow! And I bet you can’t guess what’s for dinner tomorrow night!!!

All the veggies can be adjusted to your specific tastes–zucchini and yellow squash are a nice addition–if you like them!! I will even throw in a few spinach leaves at the end–just until they wilt–from time to time.

Eat your five a day!

Kyra

