Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last year I planted my herbs in a strawberry pot, and I loved how little space it took up and was very accessible by my deck door. Well, unfortunately for me–it died during our relocation. I had hoped to keep some of the perennial herbs alive over the winter, so I wouldn’t have to replant the pot and reinvest in more plants this year. So, you know the sad story and I went herb shopping here and there over the past few weeks and found a little collection to start with again 🙂

Here it is all planted and ready to use!! I planted sage, stevia, dill, curry, chives, parsley, and cilantro in the strawberry pot. I planted a separate pot of basil- regular sweet basil and boxwood basil and another pot with fennel and one with Morrocan mint. Mint is tricky–I recommend always planting it in a pot–unless you want a whole yard/garden/flower bed full of mint! It tends to take over wherever you plant it!! I love basil and to make pesto–therefore I wanted a larger pot of it, and the fennel is an experiment–I’ll keep you posted on that one 🙂

Here are some pictures of the planting process:

The curry is a new one this year also–can’t wait to see how that works in some of my recipes!

My herb garden this year–can’t wait to get the grilling going here!

I made a tisane when I was finished with my planting–my mint just looked too irresistable!! Here it is iced and ready to drink:

You may be wondering what a tisane is–well here is the definition:

Tisane : an infusion (as of dried herbs) used as a beverage or for medicinal effects

I picked about 25 mint leaves and a sprig of stevia to steep in not quite boiling water for about 5 minutes. Strained it and let it cool–poured over ice and garnished with a couple of mint leaves. It is a very mild drink–not nearly as strong as traditional tea is and very refreshing. It is traditionally consumed while it is hot–but iced sounded good to me today!! You can make tisane with a lot of herbal combinations–it is supposed to be very good for you–there are a lot of recipes available here and there on line if you would like to try them! By the way, the stevia did add a subtle sweetness to the tisane–which is what I wanted ! Perfect!!

Have a lovely day!!

Kyra

