Tags

, , ,

Today I tried an old technique I first discovered on Split Coast Stampers several years ago after viewing cards made with the stamp set Serenity by StampinUp (retired) which is a background size stamp with a toile-like look. A user named inkpad uploaded a card using bleach on a wet embossed image–the effect was stunning and so I had to try it. I made a few cards using this technique a few years ago–which are long gone–sent to friends or family–and thought of it again when I saw my sadly unused Serenity stamp which I really do love!!

Here is the process:

First wet emboss your image on colored card stock and then paint with a clorox bleach pen on the spots you want to lighten–here is a picture of the process:

 

1. The real red cardstock with just the stamped and embossed image (used black embossing powder)

2. The stamped and embossed image with the bleach applied

3. The image rinsed with water and air dried – after letting the bleach sit for 30 minutes (or longer) to get the desired effect.

A close up of the finished piece.

Here are some other colors I am going to experiment with:

It is a good idea to put a drop of bleach on the card stock to see what color the bleach will make it- I used some small scraps as test pieces.

I will post my finished cards I make with these bleached  card fronts soon!!

Enjoy~

Kyra

