Tags

, , , , ,

I know–it’s a little early to think about cards for these holidays–they are still a few months away–but I got a head start this year because of a card making swap day I am in.

Here is my Father’s Day card idea:

(click on image to see full effect of the embossing powder on the bird)

I used some old harlequin patterned paper from Stampin Up and layered it with black and sahara sand. I layered a strip of black on the harlequin piece and ran it through my big shot with the stripes textured impresssions folder to give it cool dimension and placed that piece horizontally on my card front. I then cut a rectangle piece of sahara sand and a little smaller layer of harlequin and placed that vertically toward the left edge of the card. Then I punched a bird and branch using the stampin up punch and also used the label punch to punch the greeting which I stamped first and then punched out so it is centered perfectly! I smooshed the bird and wing in my versa mark pad and covered with aged gold embossing powder and heat embossed and let them cool. I distressed the edges and the branch and assembled the pieces as shown. It turned out pretty striking! I added a diamond accent for the eye.

Now here is the Mother’s Day Card:

I used my tulip die and cut designer paper from Stampin Up’s Everyday Enchantment Line–I then attached the die cuts to ivory coloted card stock and zipped it through my big shot using the lattice folder to texture it–I then distressed with sahara sand ink and layered on pool party card stock. I used embossing folder designer frames for the oval embossed shape and cut out with my scissors and punched my stamped greeting (on Lucky Limeade) for the center. I then distressed the edges with brown and sahara sand and layered. I added a ribbon in lucky limeade–tied it through 2 small holes and then heated it with a heat tool to curl it up! It looks pretty cool that way!  

Hope you enjoyed looking at the cards–I sure loved making them!!

Kyra

