Tags

,

I had a bag of bread cubes that I needed to do something with…and bread pudding sounded like just the thing! I have quite a collection of cookbooks, and this is one of the oldest I own.

The Goodhousekeeping Cook Book, Copyright 1942

I love how the recipes are written for the typical farm wife with the amount of eggs for the different cakes numbered right by the name of the cake: for example Orange Pineapple Cake (3 eggs). It aslo has recipes for 1 egg, 2egg,3 egg cakes and my favorite–the Butterless, Eggless, Milkless Cake–sounds a little scary to me–but perfect for a vegan diet! They were ahead of the times in 1942.
Anyhow, getting back to the recipe at hand–I made the bread pudding–doctored up the recipe a little–I like it to be more bready and less custardy. So here is the recipe as I made it:
Custard Bread Pudding–Coconut option
4 c. of large bread cubes
4 c. milk–scalded–(I did one of the cups as half and half)
5 eggs
1/2 c. sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. vanilla
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
2 TBSP melted butter
1/2 c. shredded coconut
 In a 2 qt. greased baking casserole dish put the bread cubes. In a large mixing bowl beat the eggs well and add the rest of the ingrediants and whisk it together. Pour over bread cubes and let it sit for a few minutes to soak in–I usually preheat the oven while it is soaking. Bake at 315 ° F for 40-55 minutes.
It should look something like this
 
I let it cool for a bit and then I had this 🙂
It wasn’t as sweet as I like, so next time I will add a couple more TBSP of sugar–but I loved the coconut in it!

Enjoy!
Kyra
 
 
 
 

 

 

  
 
 
 
